Part 1, Project 2 (Basic shapes and fundamental form) – Exercise 1

Groups of objects

For this exercise I had to draw groups of objects of different shapes and sizes. I did the first image in A1 with willow charcoal. I focused on the volume of the objects, their distance from me and from each other, the negative space between them and their transparency (or lack of). The cylindrical shapes were a bit challenging and took me a lot of observation to get right. It was very enjoyable to practice drawing shapes without having to focus on the details or in light and shadow.

Group of objects.jpg
Book, toilet paper, water glass, box of tea, drum, glass bottle, metal cup, cereal box. Willow charcoal.

After the above drawing, I still wanted to keep practising so I kept drawing groups of objects in my sketchbook.

12345

 

Leave a Reply

