Part 1 (Form and Gesture) – Exercise 1

Warm-up – temporary drawings

Ideas:

  • Ink on water
  • Water and watercolour on paper
  • Residue cup of coffee
  • White flour and ground charcoal
  • Water over glass surface
  • Sand
  • Burning paper
  • Wax from candle
  • Soap bubbles
  • Ink on milk
  • Salt on ice sheet
  • Light
  • Water on rocks or sand
  • Water drops

I took some time to simply think about different ideas and do some research about temporary media. I also related it to land art, which is very often ephemeral, and saw some inspiring examples.

I thought hard about each idea and tried imagining each result. The one that appealed to me the most was making a water pattern over a transparent surface. I found a water dropper, filled it up with water and placed drops on different surfaces to see how the water reacted; glass didn’t work as the water droplets flattened, my own skin proved better but provided too little flat surface, the floor had distracting patterns. I finally found a transparent polystyrene plastic from an old frame that allowed the drops to remain spherical.

My idea right from the beginning was to create some sort of gradation of color and/or size, so I placed a big drop of ink as the center and then continued outward with smaller, gradually diluted drops. It was incredibly therapeutic to do this water drawing, as it took up all my concentration and emptied my mind of all thought. Destroying it was akin to an act of letting go. I’m satisfied with my results (captured in photograph and video) as I was able to create something that was both temporary and visually pleasing.

gotitas2
Ink and water drops over polystyrene plastic

 

Leave a comment

